Quantcast
Skip to content

Exploring The Structure and Life Cycle of Viruses

The Virologist’s Toolbox for Electron Microscopy Specimen Preparation


Date:
Tuesday 9th March 2021
Time:
1pm (London) 2pm (Berlin) 8am (New York) 

Speakers

frederick

Frédéric Leroux

Advanced Workflow Specialist
Leica Microsystems

In this webinar, you will learn about:

  • Specimen preparation workflows for studying the viral structure and life cycle
  • Room temperature, hybrid and cryo workflows
  • Correlative microscopy
  • Technical aspects of the workflows

The SARS-CoV-2 outbreak started in late December 2019 and has since reached a global pandemic, leading to a worldwide battle against COVID-19. Understanding the structural components of viruses, host-interactions, and their intracellular life cycle will support and accelerate vaccine and anti-viral agent design. Because of its resolution, electron microscopy is a powerful and essential tool in the field of Virology.

The ever-evolving electron microscopy methods offer a plethora of new applications, allowing researchers to study viral structure, infection and replication. During this webinar, we provide an overview of these sophisticated techniques and illustrate how they provide insights into the intricate changes that viruses evoke when they infect cells. We cover the currently used preparation workflows for SEM and TEM, including room temperature, hybrid and dedicated cryo workflows.

Webinar brought to you by

leica-brand

Enter your details to attend this webinar

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Electron microscopy image of virus particles demonstrating the usefulness of electron microscopy of viruses and virology
Scroll To Top
Share via
Copy link